Going "gluten free" requires cutting all wheat, oats, barley and rye from your diet. Gluten is the insoluble component of these grains and is not tolerated by some individuals, particularly those with celiac disease””a digestive disorder in which nutrients in food are not properly absorbed by the intestines.
Not being able to eat common foods, like cereals, pasta and bread on a gluten-free diet can be difficult. Ingredient labels on all processed foods need to be carefully examined, as gluten may be present in other forms, such as vegetable proteins and starch, maltodextrin and glucose syrup.
Luckily, gluten-free specialty products are becoming more widely available as the diet becomes more popular. Pastas, snacks, cakes and flour can all be found in gluten-free form.